A gala night in Brussels – Label Industry Global Awards winners unveiled

BELGIUM • Over 500 guests gathered on the evening of Tuesday, 29th of September at the prestigious Label Industry Global Awards ceremony to find out which of the 17 finalist companies would be walking away with a much coveted industry gong. This 12th annual awards event was held at Brussels Expo as part of Labelexpo Europe 2015.

Following an opening speech by Lisa Milburn, Managing Director of Labelexpo (Tarsus Group), Kurt Walker, FINAT’s former president was presented with the R. Stanton Avery Lifetime Achievement Award. He received the award in recognition of his work with FINAT and in driving innovation and best practice throughout the international label community. On this occasion he put forward his personal business experiences, how he got into the label industry and what significance this had for his personal life. He joined the label industry in 1988 and acted until his retirement in 2012 as CEO of tesa Bandfix AG. His career at FINAT dates back to 1989, when he attended his first meeting. In 2007, he joined the FINAT Board, and a year later became the association’s Treasurer. In 2009 he was elected Vice-President, before being appointed President in 2011

Subsequently, FINAT president Thomas Hagmaier and NarrowWebTech editor Tony White took over for the award ceremony.

HP Indigo was revealed as the winner of the Award for Innovation (for companies with more than 300 employees), sponsored by Flint Group Narrow Web. The company won for its work in developing its HP SmartStream Mosaic software. The Award for Innovation (for companies with up to 300 employees), sponsored by Flint Group Narrow Web went to joint recipients GEW and Lake Image Systems. GEW impressed the judges with its RHINO electronic power supply while Lake Image Systems was honored for developing MaxScan, its latest addition to the Discovery MultiScan family. Lintec was announced as the winner of the Award for Sustainability, sponsored by Xeikon. The company has developed a new label facestock, KP5000, which uses 80% of recycled PET pellets.

Judges for this year’s awards, under the chairmanship of Mike Fairley were: Thomas Hagmaier, president of FINAT, Andy Thomas, group managing editor of Labels & Labeling, Armin Karl Geiger, editor of NarrowWebTech, Steve Katz, editor of Label & Narrow Web and Anthony White, editor of NarrowWebTech and label industry consultant.

Armin Karl Geiger

Your Opinion